Two Simple Promises

As December 31 approaches, I find myself pondering New Year’s resolutions. From year to year they haven’t changed. I’ve promised to eat healthy, which is always accompanied by exercise. Committing to improve lifestyle choices is a noble act. The truth is, theses pledges are simply unrealistic. The key to keeping fit and eating healthy requires dedication, willpower and plenty of energy. When a delicious, freshly baked brownie presents itself, the salads fade away and the gym shoes get tucked back in the bag.

 For 2010, my outlook is different. As a student, I’m dedicated to keeping two simple promises. First, avoid breaking the bank, by not wasting money. Second, receive A+’s on assignments, not in procrastinating. Achievable, beneficial and realistic, these two resolutions go hand in hand.

Living in the lap of luxury, is a lifestyle I cannot keep up. With no set salary, the budget is tight. Shopping adventures, fancy dinners, coffee dates with friends are all put on hold. Staying in allows me to save money by keeping the bank book balanced and more time to do work not procrastinate.Procrastination is just inescapable. When it comes to doing homework, tomorrow always seems like the better option. I’ll spend more time thinking about what needs to get done than actually doing it. And don’t get me started about doing homework on the computer. Easy access to the internet means more time on Facebook, or watching T.V online, more appealing alternatives than the daunting 8-page assignment.

The four simple words of “I’ll do it later” won’t escape my lips. Old habits get thrown out the window and time management, a helpful organizational tool to avoid procrastination becomes my new best friend.

Leave a Reply

